All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/Tv
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Classical
Current cart in use:
Shopping Cart ( items)
Title Qty
your cart is empty


In Stock










I Vespri Sicilliani

I Vespri Sicilliani

Add to cart
Price: $25.47
Share Twitter

Product Notes

Les Vêpres siciliennes, a five-act opera on a libretto by Auguste Scribe and Charles Duveyrier with music by Giuseppe Verdi, was first staged at the Paris Opéra on 13th June 1855. The subject of the opera was nothing other than an adaptation of a libretto that Scribe had written some years before, Le Duc d'Albe. At first the opera was greeted with great success, even Hector Berlioz, usually far from kind to Italian musicians, exalted the grandeur of its conception and its masterly composition. However its Parisian success was to be short lived, and after 1865 Les Vêpres siciliennes disappeared from the repertoire of the Opéra. The Italian première, in Arnaldo Fusinato's translation, was held in Parma on the evening of 26th December 1855; shortly afterwards the opera was taken to La Scala in Milan, on 4th February 1856, but this time in a new translation by Ettore Caimi. Before definitively becoming I Vespri Siciliani in the Italian edition too, the opera circulated for some time under various titles. Les Vêpres siciliennes/I Vespri Siciliani is in many senses an intimist opera, all based on the contrast between the duties imposed on, and sorrowfully accepted by, all the leading characters by their political roles, and their private feelings which, of course, do not correspond to the demands of politics. All of this set against the backdrop of a very demanding stage and choral set-up. Filmed by RAI at Teatro Verdi in Busseto, main interpreters of this production are Vladimir Stoyanov (Monforte), Renzo Zulian (Arrigo), Amarilli Nizza (Elena) e Orlin Anastassov (Procida), under the baton of Stefano Ranzani and with the direction of Pier Luigi Pizzi.

You May Also Like


Title: I Vespri Sicilliani
Genre: Opera/Operetta, Music Video (Concert/Performance)
Starring: Stefano Ranzani, Renzo Zulian, Orlin Anastassov, Lorenzo Muzzi, Cesare Lana, Vladimir Stoyanov
Director: Fausto Dall'Olio
Attributes: Dolby, Subtitled
Release Date: 7/24/2007
Original Year: 2003
Product Type: DVD
Region: 0
Rated: UNR
Genre: Opera/Operetta, Music Video (Concert/Performance)
Catalog #: 33551
UPC: 8007144335519
Item #: 176669X
This product is a special order

Technical Information

Street Date: 7/24/2007
Subtitles: ENG, FRE, GER, ITA
Run Time: 143 minutes
Studio: Dynamic Italy